Short answer first: Notta's free plan gives you 120 minutes a month but stops every recording at three minutes, so a full lecture needs Pro at 13.49 US dollars a month. If an English transcript is all you want, Otter allows 30 minutes per conversation free and 90 on Pro, and Word's Transcribe takes 300 uploaded minutes a month if you have Microsoft 365. If you will revise from the lecture, choose a tool that makes notes and flashcards as well: Turbo AI or Coconote on a phone, or Notibo on a computer, with two hours per recording in 89 languages.
Every figure below was read on the vendors' own pricing pages, help centres, privacy policies and app store listings on 25 September 2026. When a vendor does not publish a number, the table says "not published" instead of guessing one. Prices are the US-dollar figures the vendors' pages gave; opened from Denmark, Notta's pricing page showed euro instead, and Notibo prices in euro.
What should a Notta alternative do better?
Notta is a meeting tool first. Its homepage calls it an AI meeting notetaker, names lectures after meetings and interviews, and offers a bot that joins Zoom, Teams, Meet and Webex calls. A student who records teaching runs into limits that a sales team never notices. The headings below are those limits, and each one is a column in the table further down.
Can one recording hold a whole lecture?
Notta's pricing page stops each recording at three minutes on the free plan and at five hours on Pro. The 120 free minutes a month are real, but they come in three-minute pieces. Otter's free plan allows 30 minutes per conversation, and Notibo lets one recording run for two hours. Turbo AI and Coconote publish no cap per recording.
Does it transcribe the language your lecturer speaks?
Notta covers 58 languages for ordinary transcription, Danish among them, according to its help centre article on languages. That is far more than Otter's six. Transcribing two languages in one recording is rationed to four uses a month, with more sold as an add-on. If your programme is taught in one language and your seminars run in another, check both against each tool's list before you pay for anything.
What do you get after the transcript?
Notta returns a transcript and an AI summary with action items, with ten summaries a month on the free plan and 100 on Pro. Its pricing page lists no flashcards and no quizzes. For a meeting, the summary is the end product. For a lecture, the transcript is only the raw material for revision, which is the whole difference between a transcript and notes.
Where does the recording go?
Notta's data security article says it uses Amazon Web Services and keeps your data in a data centre in Tokyo. Its privacy policy, effective 2 September 2025, mentions service providers for voice transcription without naming them, and does not say whether recordings train models. Otter, Turbo AI and Coconote each say data may go to the United States. If your university limits where teaching recordings may be kept, check this line first.
How do Notta and the alternatives compare?
The rows are the tools a student leaving Notta usually weighs, with the numbers each vendor publishes for itself. Two rows are free tools you may already have on your laptop or phone. Quality of transcription is not in the table, because it depends on the room, the microphone and the speaker, and only your own recording can tell you that.
| Tool | Languages | Cap per recording | Free tier | Paid price | Notes and flashcards | Where data goes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Notta | 58 | 3 minutes free, 5 hours on Pro | 120 minutes a month | US$13.49 a month or US$97.99 a year | AI summaries, no flashcards listed | AWS, Tokyo |
| Otter | 6 | 30 minutes free, 90 on Pro | 300 minutes a month | US$16.99 a month or US$8.33 a month yearly | Summaries, no flashcards listed | AWS, United States |
| Turbo AI | Not published | Not published | No numbers published | No pricing page; its blog says US$20 a month or US$120 a year | Notes, flashcards, quizzes | United States |
| Coconote | "100+", Danish on its list | Not published | No numbers published | No pricing page; gift year US$258, on sale at US$129; US$59 a year in the sign-up flow | Notes, flashcards, quizzes | United States |
| Word Transcribe | 82 locales | Not stated; 300 uploaded minutes a month | Needs Microsoft 365 | Microsoft 365 Personal US$9.99 a month | Transcript only | Your OneDrive |
| iPhone Voice Memos | English and 9 others, no Danish | Not stated | Free on iPhone 12 or later | None | Transcript only | Not stated |
| Pixel Recorder | 8 languages live; 42 locales when transcribed again | Not stated | Free on Pixel phones | None | Transcript; summaries in 7 languages on Pixel 8 and later | Transcribing again may use Google servers |
| Notibo | 89 | 2 hours | 14-day Pro trial, no card; then 30 minutes a month | €9.99 a month or €88.99 a year | Notes and flashcards with spaced repetition | Files in Frankfurt; transcription on US processors |
Read the cap column before the price column. A tool that stops at three minutes or 30 minutes on its free plan cannot show you what a full lecture looks like until you pay, and a tool that publishes no cap leaves you to find the limit with a real class on the line.
Is Notta good for lectures?
It can be, once you pay. Notta runs in the browser, on iOS and Android, as a Chrome extension and as a desktop app for Mac and Windows that records without a bot in the call. The free plan is a trial of the interface, not a lecture tool. Its help centre spells out what Pro costs, and its pricing page what happens when you stop paying.
- Pro costs 13.49 US dollars a month or 97.99 US dollars a year. Notta's plans and pricing article gives 1,800 transcription minutes a month, and it warns that App Store and Google Play prices may differ from the web.
- Students get half off the annual plan for one year. The education discount article prices annual Pro at 48.99 US dollars instead of 97.99, with a self-service list of university domains and a form for everyone else.
- Two languages in one recording are rationed. Every plan gets four uses of bilingual transcription a month; beyond that it is an add-on at 15 US dollars a month or 108 a year, sold on Pro and above.
- Cancelling hides most of each transcript. The pricing page FAQ says a free user can view only the first three minutes of a transcript, so export before you downgrade.
At the student price, a year of Pro works out to about 4.08 US dollars a month, 48.99 divided by twelve, for 1,800 minutes, which is plenty of lecture time. The catch is what surrounds it: a summary instead of study material, data in Tokyo, and a free plan that cannot show you a full lecture before you commit to a year.
Is Otter a better fit than Notta?
For English lectures it often is, and our Otter alternatives guide covers Otter in full. The short version for someone leaving Notta: Otter's free plan is the more usable of the two, because a single conversation can run ten times longer. It covers far fewer languages, and its paid plan costs more.
- The free plan gives 300 minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation. Otter's pricing page also limits free users to three imported audio or video files in total, not per month.
- Pro costs 16.99 US dollars a month, or 8.33 a month billed yearly. It raises the cap to 90 minutes per conversation and 1,200 minutes a month. Those are the list prices, not the promotional figures the page sometimes shows with an asterisk.
- Transcription covers six languages. English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese, per the same page. Students with an address ending in .edu get 20 per cent off Pro, which the page's FAQ prices at 13.59 US dollars a month or 79.99 a year.
- Storage is in the United States. Otter's privacy policy names Amazon Web Services in the US and says Otter trains its own AI on de-identified audio recordings and on transcripts.
A lecture longer than half an hour does not fit in Otter's free cap, so a full lecture means paying for Pro. On Pro, a class that runs past 90 minutes still gets cut. If your lecturer teaches in a language outside the six, Otter is not an option at any price, and Notta's longer list becomes the reason to stay.
What does Turbo AI offer a student?
Turbo AI, called TurboLearn until its rebrand, starts where Notta stops. It is built for students: record a lecture or upload a PDF or a video, and it produces notes, flashcards, quizzes and podcasts, on the web, in an iPhone and iPad app and in an Android app on Google Play. What it does not publish is the small print a Notta user tends to look for first. The full comparison is in our Turbo AI alternatives guide.
- There is no pricing page. Turbo's own blog post on keeping up in lectures gives 20 US dollars a month, or 10 a month on the annual plan at 120 US dollars a year. The US App Store lists several other prices for the same subscription.
- No cap per recording and no language list. The homepage FAQ calls the free tier generous and gives no numbers for it.
- Content goes to outside AI providers. Turbo's privacy policy names OpenAI, Grok, Anthropic and Modal Labs, says data may be processed in the United States, and lists training AI tools among the uses of personal information.
Turbo fits a student whose lectures are in English and who revises on a phone. For someone who needs Danish or another language, there is nothing on Turbo's pages to check before paying, so one real lecture on the free tier is the only test available. Try the longest class you have, since no cap is published.
What does Coconote offer instead?
Coconote is a phone-first recorder now sold by Quizlet, which its App Store listing names as the seller. Like Turbo AI, it records or imports a lecture and returns notes, a transcript, flashcards and quizzes. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Mac, Android and the web, and its desktop page offers a Windows download too. Our Coconote alternatives guide compares it in depth.
- More than 100 languages, with a list. Coconote's help centre answers "Do you support my language?" with 110 names, Danish among them, several of them two names for one language, such as Castilian and Spanish.
- No pricing page. The gift page lists a year of Coconote Pass at 258 US dollars, on sale at 129, and a page in the sign-up flow showed 59 US dollars a year after three free days. The US App Store lists "Coconote Pro" at prices from 9.99 to 152.99 US dollars without naming the periods.
- Cut-short recordings cannot be recovered. The help centre says so plainly, and suggests recording with Apple's Voice Memos and uploading the file instead.
- Data may be transferred to the United States. Coconote's privacy policy says it operates there and may move data from the EEA, the UK and Switzerland to the US.
For a Notta user, Coconote fills the flashcard gap and keeps a wide language range. It does not fill the gap in numbers: you cannot see the free limit, the recording cap or the monthly price before you sign up. For a long lecture, do what its help centre suggests: record in Voice Memos and upload the file.
Can Word's Transcribe replace Notta?
If your university account includes Microsoft 365, you may already have a transcription tool with no three-minute cap. Word's Transcribe works on a recording made in Word or an uploaded audio file, returns a transcript with speakers separated and timestamps, and saves the audio to your OneDrive. It stops at the transcript.
- 300 minutes of uploaded audio a month. Microsoft's Transcribe support page gives that limit for Microsoft 365 subscribers, and 30,000 minutes with a Copilot licence. It accepts .wav, .mp4, .m4a and .mp3 files.
- 82 locales, Danish included. Many of them are regional variants of Arabic, English and Spanish. Norwegian, Swedish and Finnish are on the list as well.
- Edge or Chrome only. Transcribe works in the new Microsoft Edge and in Chrome, according to the same page.
- The transcription service keeps no copy. The page says audio is sent to Microsoft only to provide the service, and that the audio and transcript are not stored by the service once transcription is done. The recording itself stays in your OneDrive.
If you pay for Microsoft 365 yourself, Personal costs 9.99 US dollars a month on Microsoft's US plans page. That works out to six 50-minute lectures a month. What you get is a transcript to read, search and correct. The notes and the study material are yours to make, so Word suits a student who writes their own notes from the transcript.
Is your phone's own recorder enough?
Apple and Google both build transcription into the recorder app on their phones, at no cost and with no subscription. The limits are the device and the language list. Neither app makes notes or flashcards, but either can be the recorder that feeds another tool, and the phone is usually in your pocket anyway.
- iPhone: Voice Memos transcribes on iPhone 12 or later. Apple's Voice Memos guide lists English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, French, German, Japanese, Korean and Chinese in simplified and traditional script, and notes it is not available in every country. Danish is not on the list.
- Pixel: Recorder transcribes live in eight languages, 15 locales, on the Pixel 6 and later. Google's Recorder help page lists 42 locales, Danish among them, for transcribing a saved recording again, and warns that this may process the audio on Google's servers.
- Summaries are narrow. Recorder's summaries need a Pixel 8 or later, work in seven languages (English, Mandarin, Hindi, Italian, French, German and Japanese), and cover recordings of five minutes to an hour of speech.
If you study in English on a recent iPhone or Pixel, the phone replaces Notta for the transcript itself, free. For Danish on an iPhone it does not. For everyone else, the phone is the backup recorder: record there, then upload the file to Word, Notibo or another tool that handles your language and makes what you need.
Which should you choose?
Decide by what happens after the recording. A transcript you will read once needs a different tool from a lecture you will revise from for an exam. Paying for Notta Pro to do the first job wastes money, and the second job needs more than Notta makes.
- If your lectures are in English and you already pay for Otter, stay, as long as no class runs past Pro's 90-minute cap.
- If you want a transcript to search and your university gives you Microsoft 365, use Word's Transcribe: 300 uploaded minutes a month, with Danish on its list.
- If you will revise with flashcards, choose a tool that makes them from the recording: Turbo AI or Coconote if the phone is where you study, Notibo if you record and revise on a laptop.
- If you study in a language outside Otter's six, compare Notta's 58, Word's 82 locales, Coconote's list and Notibo's 89 against your own lecture.
- If where recordings are stored matters to you or your university, read the last column: Tokyo for Notta, the United States for Otter, Turbo AI and Coconote, your OneDrive for Word, Frankfurt for Notibo's files with transcription on US processors.
Whichever you pick, run one real lecture through a free plan or trial and read the result before you pay for a year.
Where Notibo fits
Notibo is for the lecture you will study from later. You record on a computer or upload an audio file, and you get a transcript, notes with a summary, main points and action items, and flashcards scheduled with spaced repetition. It also turns PDF, PowerPoint and Word files into notes and flashcards, which covers the slides your lecturer posts afterwards.
- Two hours per recording, 89 languages. Auto-detect is on by default and copes with a lecturer who switches language mid-sentence. The transcript stays in the language spoken.
- Pro is free for 14 days, no card. The trial includes 240 minutes, and after it the account keeps 30 minutes a month and five documents for free. Pro is 9.99 euro a month or 88.99 euro a year, with 1,200 minutes a month.
- Files are stored in Frankfurt. Transcription and the AI notes run on US processors under standard contractual clauses. Audio is deleted once the transcript and notes are saved, and Notibo does not train on your content.
It is not the pick for everything. No bot joins a Zoom call, Safari and Firefox give it the microphone only, and one upload can be 50 MB at most. In Chrome or Edge it can also take a browser tab's sound, and on Windows the whole system sound.
The trial covers a few whole lectures, so you see the notes and the cards from a real class before you pay. The free plan that follows covers only part of a class, and a whole lecture needs Pro; the lecture recording page shows how a recording becomes notes and cards.
