Skip to content

Turbo AI alternatives: six study apps and what they cost

By · Notibo

Published · 16 min read · updated

Turbo AI alternatives: six study apps and what they cost

Key takeaways

  • Turbo AI has no pricing page. Its own blog gives 20 US dollars a month or 120 a year, and the US App Store lists its subscription at prices from 7.49 to 119.99 US dollars.
  • Turbo AI publishes no free-tier numbers, no cap per recording and no language list, and its privacy policy names OpenAI, Grok, Anthropic and Modal Labs as AI providers.
  • Knowt, RemNote, YouLearn and Notibo show prices on their websites. Knowt Ultra is 24.99 US dollars a month, RemNote's Pro with AI 216 US dollars a year, Notibo Pro 9.99 euro a month.
  • RemNote's lecture recorder uses about 600 AI credits per hour and transcribes six languages live and more than 80 from an uploaded file.
  • StudyFetch's privacy policy says it may train its own AI models on what you upload; RemNote says it does not train on your notes, and Notibo does not train on your content.
  • YouLearn's free plan allows three new items a day and five AI chat messages a day; Pro is 20 US dollars a month on the US App Store.

Short answer first: Turbo AI has no pricing page. Its own blog puts it at 20 US dollars a month or 120 a year, and it publishes no free-tier numbers, no cap per recording and no language list. Knowt, RemNote, YouLearn and Notibo show their prices on their own websites: Knowt Ultra at 24.99 US dollars a month, RemNote's lecture recorder in a plan at 216 US dollars a year, Notibo at 9.99 euro a month after 14 free days of Pro, with no card. Coconote is the nearest phone-first swap, and it publishes as little as Turbo AI.

We took every number in this article from the vendor's own pricing page, help centre, privacy policy or US App Store listing, all read on 25 September 2026. A vendor that prints no figure is marked "not published" rather than estimated. Prices are in US dollars as those pages showed them, except Notibo's, which are in euro.

What should you check before you replace Turbo AI?

Turbo AI does the thing students want: record a lecture or drop in a PDF, and get notes, flashcards and quizzes back. The reasons to look elsewhere sit in what it does not tell you. Each question below is one a student can answer for the alternatives from their own pages, and each one shows up as a column in the table.

Can you see the price before you sign up?

Turbo AI's address for a pricing page, turbo.ai/pricing, returns a not-found error, and Coconote and StudyFetch have no pricing page either. Knowt, RemNote and Notibo print plans and prices on a public page. YouLearn has a pricing page too, but its prices appear only after the page's script runs; opened from Denmark, they showed in kroner.

What does the free tier actually include?

A free tier with numbers lets you plan a term around it. Turbo AI calls its free tier generous and stops there. YouLearn publishes a limits table, RemNote lists its free credits and documents, and Notibo states 30 minutes of audio and five documents a month. Knowt's free plan says what it includes rather than how much of it.

Can it handle a long lecture?

Turbo AI, Coconote, YouLearn, Knowt and StudyFetch publish no cap per recording on any page we read. RemNote publishes the cost instead, at about 600 AI credits per hour of recording, and Notibo allows two hours per recording. Coconote's help centre is candid about recordings that get cut short. If your lectures run to two hours, a published limit is the only one you can plan around.

Does it record on the device you take to class?

Turbo AI runs on the web, iPhone, iPad and Android, and StudyFetch on the web, iOS and Android. Coconote adds Mac and Windows apps to its phone apps, and RemNote starts a recording from a folder, a document or its mobile app. Notibo is computer-first and records in the browser, including a tab's sound in Chrome or Edge. If you carry a laptop to lectures, check that recording works there, not only reading.

Where do your files go, and who trains on them?

Notibo names Frankfurt for stored files, with transcription on US processors. Knowt says it mainly uses data centres in the United States, and Turbo AI and Coconote say data may be processed in or moved to the US. On training, StudyFetch says it may train its own models on uploads; RemNote says it does not train on the text of your notes, and Notibo does not train on user content.

How do Turbo AI and the alternatives compare?

The table puts the same questions to each tool and fills in only what the vendor's own pages answer. The paid price is the plan a student recording lectures would need. Where the web gives no price, the US App Store does, and the cell says so. Read "not published" as a question to ask support before paying, not as a no.

Tool Publishes its prices Paid price Free tier Lecture recording Languages Training on your uploads
Turbo AI No pricing page; blog and App Store US$20 a month or US$120 a year (blog) "Generous", no numbers Yes; cap not published Not published Listed among uses of personal data
Coconote No pricing page; gift page and App Store Gift year US$258, on sale at US$129; US$59 a year in the sign-up flow No numbers Yes; cap not published "100+", list in help centre Not stated
YouLearn Yes, loaded by script US$20 a month or US$143.99 a year (App Store) 3 new items and 5 AI chats a day Yes; cap not published "40+" (App Store) Not stated
Knowt Yes US$24.99 a month or US$149.99 a year Notes and flashcards; no numbers Summariser on Ultra; cap not published Not published Not stated beyond Google data
RemNote Yes Pro with AI US$216 a year, shown as US$18 a month Unlimited notes and flashcards, 250 AI credits On Pro with AI; about 600 credits an hour 6 live, 80+ uploaded Says no, for the text of your notes
StudyFetch No pricing page; App Store US$19.99 a month or US$96 a year (App Store) Free to start, no numbers Yes; cap not published "20+" (App Store) Says it may train its own models
Notibo Yes €9.99 a month or €88.99 a year 14-day Pro trial, no card; then 30 minutes and 5 documents a month 2 hours per recording 89 Does not train on user content

Every tool here makes flashcards, so that column is left out. The differences are in what you can check before paying and in what happens to your recordings. RemNote's and Notibo's rows answer every column from a public page; Turbo AI, Coconote and StudyFetch leave the limits to be found by using the product.

What does Turbo AI publish, and what does it leave out?

Turbo AI was TurboLearn until its rename, and turbolearn.ai now redirects to turbo.ai. Its students page promises notes from PDFs, YouTube links and lectures recorded live, flashcards with spaced repetition, practice quizzes and podcasts. It runs on the web, in an iPhone and iPad app and in an Android app on Google Play. The detail a paying student needs is spread across a blog, an app store and a privacy policy.

  • The price is in a blog post. Turbo's post on keeping up in lectures, dated 9 July 2026, says 20 US dollars billed monthly, or 10 a month on the annual plan, which is 120 US dollars a year.
  • The App Store shows a spread of prices. The US listing has "Turbolearn Unlimited" at 14.99 and 19.99 a month, 9.99 a week, a year at five different prices from 19.99 to 119.99, and a "50% Off Forever Monthly" at 7.49.
  • The free tier has no numbers. The homepage FAQ says only that it includes note generation, flashcards and quizzes.
  • Your content goes to four named AI providers. The privacy policy, last updated 1 December 2025, names OpenAI, Grok, Anthropic and Modal Labs, says data may be stored and processed in the United States, and lists training AI tools among its uses of personal information.

None of that makes Turbo AI a bad tool. It makes it a tool you pay for before you know what you are paying for. The store lists five prices for a year of the same subscription, and no page states how long a recording can run. If that is what bothers you, the alternatives below differ mainly in how much they publish.

Is Coconote a like-for-like swap?

On features, nearly. Coconote records or imports a lecture and gives back notes, a transcript, flashcards, quizzes and study games, and it runs on phones, tablets, the web and desktop apps for Mac and Windows. On published detail it is Turbo AI's twin, so switching fixes nothing on that front. Our Coconote alternatives guide covers it on its own.

  • No pricing page here either. Its gift page prices a year of Coconote Pass at 258 US dollars, shown with 50 per cent off at 129, and a page in its sign-up flow showed 59 US dollars a year after three free days. The US App Store lists "Coconote Pro" at six different prices between 9.99 and 152.99 US dollars.
  • A language list does exist. The help centre names more than 100 languages when you open the language question, Danish among them.
  • US transfers are stated. The privacy policy says Coconote operates in the United States and may transfer data from the EEA, the UK and Switzerland there, using standard contractual clauses where relevant.

Pick Coconote over Turbo AI for its published language list or its Windows desktop app, not for clearer prices. If you record long lectures, note that its help centre says a recording cut short cannot be recovered, and suggests recording in Voice Memos and uploading the file.

What does YouLearn charge for lectures?

YouLearn sells itself as an AI tutor for PDFs, videos, slides and recorded lectures, with chat, quizzes, flashcards and podcasts on top. Unlike Turbo AI, it publishes a full table of free-plan limits. The whole picture is in our YouLearn alternatives guide; for a Turbo AI user, the numbers that matter are these.

  • Pro is 20 US dollars a month or 143.99 a year on the US App Store, which also says it supports more than 40 languages and records lectures with chapters and transcripts.
  • The web price loads by script. Opened from Denmark on 25 September, the pricing page showed Pro at 75 Danish kroner a month billed yearly, a localised price; the App Store figure above is the US price. The page's FAQ gives students with a .edu address 20 per cent off Pro.
  • The free plan has daily limits. YouLearn's limits page allows three new pieces of content a day, five AI chat messages a day and documents of up to 100 pages or 10 MB.
  • Several AI providers see your content. The privacy policy names Google, Anthropic, OpenAI and xAI, plus ElevenLabs for speech-to-text, with Amazon Web Services for storage.

YouLearn beats Turbo AI on published limits and matches its monthly price. Three new items a day is enough to try it on real course material before paying. It publishes no cap per recording, so ask support or test your longest class before you commit to a year.

Is Knowt's free plan enough?

Knowt is a notes and flashcard app with a broad free plan: unlimited file creation, live collaboration and storage, plus five million shared resources to browse. Its help centre describes starting a live recording, or uploading audio, and choosing notes or flashcards as the output. The plans page puts that lecture summariser in the paid Ultra plan.

  • Ultra costs 24.99 US dollars a month or 149.99 a year. Knowt's plans page lists the "AI lecture recording summarizer" beside an ad-free experience, a podcast generator and an AI voice tutor. The annual plan starts with a three-day free trial.
  • Refunds have a 24-hour window. The same page refunds a purchase or renewal within 24 hours, minus about 3.5 per cent in transaction fees, and not for purchases made through iOS or Android.
  • Data sits mainly in the United States. Knowt's privacy policy, last updated 18 March 2026, says it currently uses data centres there primarily.

Knowt suits a student who makes most cards from documents and records the odd lecture. It publishes its prices but no cap per recording and no language list, and at 24.99 US dollars its monthly Ultra plan costs more than Turbo AI's 20.

Does RemNote's lecture recorder replace Turbo AI?

RemNote is a notes and flashcard app with spaced repetition at its core. Its Lecture Recorder starts from a folder, a document or the mobile app; you follow a live transcript, take notes beside it, and turn the result into flashcards, quizzes or a guided study plan. It sits in Pro with AI, the dearer paid plan, and each hour of audio costs AI credits.

  • Pro with AI is 216 US dollars a year, shown as 18 a month. RemNote's pricing page puts the Lecture Recorder in that plan only, with 20,000 AI credits a month. Plain Pro is 96 US dollars a year, and the free plan keeps notes and flashcards unlimited with 250 credits.
  • An hour of recording costs about 600 credits. The help article on recording lectures gives that rate. On 20,000 credits a month, that works out to roughly 33 hours of lectures if the credits go to nothing else.
  • Six languages live, more than 80 from a file. Live transcription covers English, Spanish, French, German, Italian and Portuguese; uploaded audio can be transcribed in more than 80 languages.
  • It says it does not train on your notes. RemNote's privacy article names its AI providers, says it does not train AI models on the text of your notes or let third parties do so, and hosts data in MongoDB Atlas on Amazon Web Services.

RemNote fits a student for whom the flashcards matter more than the recording, since reviewing cards on a schedule is what the app is built for; our spaced repetition guide explains why that schedule works. For a lecture in a language outside the live six, record elsewhere and upload the file.

What does StudyFetch publish?

StudyFetch builds a study plan from your uploads and turns them into flashcards, quizzes, practice tests, audio recaps and explainer videos, with a tutor called Sparky. Its homepage FAQ says you can record lectures directly in the app and use it on the web, iOS and Android. Like Turbo AI, it keeps prices off its website.

  • The price is in the App Store. The US listing sells Premium at 19.99 US dollars a month, 29 a quarter or 96 a year. The website says only that getting started is free.
  • More than 20 languages, with no list. That figure comes from the App Store description.
  • Your uploads may train StudyFetch's own models. Its privacy policy, last updated 13 August 2026, says so directly, with an exception for data from Google's APIs. It sends content to OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Amazon's Bedrock under business terms in which those providers do not train on it.

At 96 US dollars a year, StudyFetch costs less than Turbo AI's 120, and its privacy policy states the training use plainly. If you do not want your recordings used to build a vendor's own model, that sentence decides it. If you do not mind, it is a cheaper option with the same gap in published limits.

Which should you choose?

Start from what bothers you about Turbo AI, because the alternatives fix different things. None of them is better at everything, and two of them fix nothing on the point of published prices.

  • If you want to see the price before you sign up, choose from Knowt, RemNote, YouLearn and Notibo; Turbo AI, Coconote and StudyFetch keep it inside the app or the store.
  • If the flashcards matter more than the recording, start with RemNote's free plan, which has unlimited notes and cards, and pay for its recorder only if you need it.
  • If your lectures run past an hour, use a tool that states a recording limit or cost: two hours per recording on Notibo, 600 credits an hour on RemNote.
  • If you do not want your uploads used for training, skip StudyFetch, whose policy says it may, and read Turbo AI's, which lists AI training among its uses. RemNote says it does not train on your notes, and Notibo does not train on user content.
  • If your files should be stored in the EU, Notibo is the one here that names an EU location, with transcription on US processors.
  • If you revise on your phone and like Turbo AI's output, Coconote is the closest switch, with no more published about its limits.

Test one real lecture on the free tier or trial before paying for a year, and if the tool publishes no cap, make it your longest one.

Where Notibo fits

Notibo publishes the numbers this article kept looking for. Pro is free for 14 days with 240 minutes of audio, and no card is asked for. After the trial the free plan is 30 minutes of audio and five documents a month. Pro is 9.99 euro a month or 88.99 euro a year, for 1,200 minutes a month, and one recording can run for two hours.

  • Record on a computer, or upload a file. In Chrome or Edge it can take a browser tab's sound, and on Windows the whole system sound; Safari and Firefox give it the microphone. Uploads take MP3, M4A, AAC, WAV, OGG, Opus, FLAC, WebM, MP4 and MOV files up to 50 MB.
  • Cards on a schedule, from lectures and documents. A recording becomes a transcript, notes with a summary, main points and action items, and flashcards with spaced repetition. PDF, PPTX and DOCX files become notes and cards the same way.
  • 89 languages. Auto-detect copes with a lecturer who switches language mid-sentence, and the transcript stays in the language spoken.
  • Files stored in Frankfurt, and no training. Transcription and notes run on US processors under standard contractual clauses, audio is deleted once the transcript and notes are saved, and Notibo opts out of model training on every transcription request. The processors are named in the privacy policy.

Notibo records on a computer, so a student who records and revises on a phone will find Turbo AI, Coconote or StudyFetch closer to how they work. If you record on a laptop and want the limits in writing before you start, the 240 minutes in the trial show you what a few whole lectures turn into.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Turbo AI cost?
Turbo AI has no pricing page. Its blog posts give 20 US dollars a month, or 10 a month on the annual plan at 120 US dollars a year. The US App Store lists the subscription at several other prices, including 14.99 a month and yearly prices from 19.99 to 119.99 US dollars.
Is Turbo AI free?
It has a free tier. The homepage FAQ calls it generous and says it includes note generation, flashcards and quizzes, but Turbo AI publishes no numbers for it: no minutes, no uploads per month and no cap per recording.
Is TurboLearn the same as Turbo AI?
Yes. TurboLearn renamed itself Turbo AI, and turbolearn.ai now redirects to turbo.ai. The legal name in the privacy policy is still TurboLearn, Inc., and the App Store lists the subscription as Turbolearn Unlimited.
Does Turbo AI use my lectures to train AI?
Its privacy policy, last updated 1 December 2025, lists training and development, including for training AI tools, among the uses of personal information, and says content goes to OpenAI, Grok, Anthropic and Modal Labs to power AI features.
Which Turbo AI alternative has the best free plan?
It depends on what you record. RemNote's free plan has unlimited notes and flashcards but no lecture recorder, which needs Pro with AI. YouLearn's free plan allows three new items a day. Notibo's free plan gives 30 minutes of audio and five documents a month, and its Pro plan is free for the first 14 days with no card.
Which alternative stores files in the EU?
Of the tools compared here, Notibo is the one that names an EU location: files are stored in Frankfurt, while transcription and AI notes run on US processors. Knowt, Turbo AI and Coconote name the United States; RemNote and YouLearn name Amazon Web Services without a region.
What should you check before you replace Turbo AI?
Turbo AI does the thing students want: record a lecture or drop in a PDF, and get notes, flashcards and quizzes back. The reasons to look elsewhere sit in what it does not tell you. Each question below is one a student can answer for the alternatives from their own pages, and each one shows up as a column in the table.
How do Turbo AI and the alternatives compare?
The table puts the same questions to each tool and fills in only what the vendor's own pages answer. The paid price is the plan a student recording lectures would need. Where the web gives no price, the US App Store does, and the cell says so. Read "not published" as a question to ask support before paying, not as a no. Every tool here makes flashcards, so that column is left out. The differences are in what you can check before paying and in what happens to your recordings. RemNote's and Notibo's rows answer every column from a public page; Turbo AI, Coconote and StudyFetch leave the limits to be found by using the product.

Sources

  1. Turbo AI: privacy policy (AI providers named, US processing, training AI tools listed among uses; last updated 1 December 2025)
  2. Turbo AI blog: How to keep up during lectures (20 US dollars a month or 120 US dollars a year, stated in a blog post)
  3. Turbo AI on the US App Store (in-app purchase prices from 7.49 to 119.99 US dollars; iPhone and iPad)
  4. Knowt: subscription plans and pricing (Ultra at 24.99 US dollars a month or 149.99 a year; lecture recording summariser on Ultra)
  5. RemNote: pricing (free plan, Pro at 96 US dollars a year, Pro with AI at 216 US dollars a year with the lecture recorder)
  6. RemNote Help Center: Recording and transcribing lectures (about 600 AI credits per hour; six languages live, more than 80 for uploaded audio)
  7. YouLearn on the US App Store (Pro at 20 US dollars a month or 143.99 a year; 40+ languages stated)
  8. StudyFetch: privacy policy (may train its own AI models on uploaded content; third-party model providers named; last updated 13 August 2026)

About the author

Farhad Ba-Ali

Farhad Ba-Ali builds Notibo in Odense, Denmark. He writes about study methods, memory and note-taking from the questions students send in, and from what the product's own data shows.

Want the limits in writing before you pay?

Every cap and price is on the site: two hours per recording, 1,200 Pro minutes a month, 9.99 euro. Pro is free for 14 days, no card.

Create free account

Back to the blog