Short answer first: Coconote has no pricing page and publishes no free allowance and no cap per recording, and its own help centre says a recording cut short cannot be recovered. If you want the limits in writing, Otter publishes 300 free minutes a month at 30 minutes per conversation, Notta 120 minutes at three minutes per recording, and YouLearn a daily limits table. Turbo AI is the closest swap for Coconote's flashcards but publishes just as little. Notibo records two hours per recording in the browser, in 89 languages, and gives 14 days of Pro free with no card, then 30 free minutes a month.
All numbers here come from each vendor's own website, help centre, privacy policy or US App Store listing as they read on 25 September 2026. Where a vendor gives no figure, the article says "not published" and moves on. Dollar amounts are the US prices those pages showed; Notibo's are in euro, as its own site gives them.
What should a Coconote alternative do differently?
Coconote is good at the part students see first: press record on a phone, get tidy notes, flashcards and quizzes. The trouble starts when a student plans a term around it, because the numbers that planning needs are not on any public page. The questions below are where Coconote leaves you guessing, and the table answers them for each alternative.
Can you see the limits before you pay?
Coconote's FAQ says you can use it free "to get started" and recommends the Unlimited Pass for unlimited notes, which tells you the free plan runs out without saying when. Otter, Notta, YouLearn and Notibo each publish a free allowance in minutes, uploads or items a day, and Microsoft publishes Word's monthly minutes. Turbo AI, like Coconote, calls its free tier generous and gives no figure.
Will a two-hour lecture survive?
Coconote publishes no cap per recording. Its help centre has an answer titled "Only part of my recording was captured", which says nothing can be done once audio is cut short and suggests recording with Apple's Voice Memos app and uploading the file. Among the alternatives, Otter states 90 minutes per conversation on Pro, Notta five hours on Pro, and Notibo two hours per recording.
Does it record on the computer you take to class?
Coconote is built around the phone, and its homepage ends in QR codes for the app stores. It also runs in a browser, and its desktop page offers Mac and Windows apps that capture lectures and the sound on your computer. Otter and Notta have desktop apps too, Word's Transcribe works in Edge or Chrome, and Notibo records in the browser.
Where are the recordings kept?
Coconote says it operates in the United States and may move European data there. Otter names Amazon Web Services in the US, Turbo AI says data may be processed in the US, Notta's help centre names a data centre in Tokyo, and YouLearn names Amazon Web Services without a region. Word keeps the recording in your OneDrive. Notibo stores files in Frankfurt and runs transcription on US processors.
How do Coconote and the alternatives compare?
Each row is one tool as its own pages describe it. "Records on" is where you can start a recording, not only where you can read notes. The study material column matters most for a Coconote user, because two of the alternatives stop at a summary and one at a transcript. A promise without a number, such as a "generous" free tier, counts as not published.
| Tool | Records on | Published price | Free allowance | Longest recording | Study material | Stored in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coconote | iPhone, iPad, Android, web, Mac and Windows apps | No pricing page; gift year US$258, on sale at US$129; US$59 a year in the sign-up flow | Not published | Not published | Notes, flashcards, quizzes, study games | United States |
| Turbo AI | Web, iPhone, iPad, Android | No pricing page; blog says US$20 a month | Not published | Not published | Notes, flashcards, quizzes, podcasts | United States |
| YouLearn | Web and mobile | US$20 a month or US$143.99 a year (US App Store) | 3 new items and 5 AI chats a day | Not published | Notes, flashcards, quizzes, podcasts | AWS, region not stated |
| Otter | Web, iOS, Android, Mac and Windows apps | US$16.99 a month | 300 minutes a month | 30 minutes free, 90 on Pro | Summaries, no flashcards listed | AWS, United States |
| Notta | Web, iOS, Android, Mac and Windows apps | US$13.49 a month | 120 minutes a month | 3 minutes free, 5 hours on Pro | Summaries, no flashcards listed | AWS, Tokyo |
| Phone plus Word | iPhone or Pixel, then Word in Edge or Chrome | Microsoft 365 Personal US$9.99 a month | 300 uploaded minutes a month with Microsoft 365 | Not stated | Transcript only | Your OneDrive |
| Notibo | Browser on a computer | €9.99 a month or €88.99 a year | 14-day Pro trial, no card; then 30 minutes and 5 documents a month | 2 hours | Notes and flashcards with spaced repetition | Files in Frankfurt; transcription on US processors |
Three of the seven publish a longest recording, and two publish neither a price page nor a free allowance. If you liked Coconote's flashcards, only Turbo AI, YouLearn and Notibo keep that part; Otter, Notta and Word trade it for a summary or a transcript.
What does Coconote give you, and what does the pass cost?
Coconote's homepage promises that you never take notes again. You record or upload a lecture, a PDF, a video or a link, and it produces notes, a transcript, quizzes, flashcards, study games and an AI podcast narrated by "Coco", its AI host. Its FAQ lists iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Mac, Android and the web, and calls the app free to download and use.
- The paid plan has three names and no pricing page. The FAQ calls it the Unlimited Pass. On the gift page, one year of the Coconote Pass is struck through at 258 US dollars and offered at 129, marked 50 per cent off. A page in the sign-up flow showed three free days and then 59 US dollars a year when we read it on 29 September 2026. In the US App Store, purchases all called Coconote Pro come at six prices, 9.99, 19.99, 71.99, 99.99, 129.99 and 152.99 US dollars, and none says how long it lasts.
- Weekly and monthly passes exist, priced inside the app. The help centre says the yearly pass saves 81 per cent against the weekly one and 58 per cent against the monthly one, and sends you to the upgrade screen to see them.
- "100+ languages" does have a list. Open the help centre's language question and it names 110 languages, Danish among them, with some counted twice under two names, such as Flemish and Dutch.
- The Mac version needs Apple silicon. The App Store listing gives macOS 15 or later and an M1 chip or later, with iOS 18 for iPhone and iPadOS 18 for iPad.
- The privacy policy is short on specifics. The privacy policy, updated 24 December 2025, says Coconote operates in the United States, may transfer data from the EEA, the UK and Switzerland there, and names no AI providers.
Coconote is a fine recorder for a student who studies on a phone and is happy to find the limits by using it. The App Store lists Quizlet Inc as its seller. What you cannot do is see the price and the limits side by side before you pay, or plan a two-hour lecture around a cap that is not written down.
Is Turbo AI a straight swap?
In shape, yes. Turbo AI turns a recorded lecture, a PDF or a video into notes, flashcards, quizzes and podcasts, on the web, on iPhone and iPad and in an Android app on Google Play, and its students page says the flashcards use spaced repetition. In published detail it matches Coconote gap for gap. The full comparison is in our Turbo AI alternatives guide.
- The price comes from a blog post. Turbo's post on keeping up during lectures gives 20 US dollars a month, or 120 a year on the annual plan; the site has no pricing page.
- No free allowance, cap or language list is published. The homepage FAQ describes the free tier as generous and stops there.
- Four AI providers are named. Turbo's privacy policy lists OpenAI, Grok, Anthropic and Modal Labs, says data may be processed in the United States, and includes training AI tools among the uses of personal information.
Moving from Coconote to Turbo AI changes the brand, not the uncertainty. You gain a named spaced repetition feature and lose a published language list and a Windows app. If your complaint about Coconote was the missing numbers, Turbo AI does not solve it.
What does YouLearn do with a recorded lecture?
YouLearn records a lecture and returns chapters and a transcript, then lets you chat with it, quiz yourself and make flashcards and podcasts from it, on the web and on mobile. Unlike Coconote, it prints its free limits in a table. Our YouLearn alternatives guide goes through it in full; here are the points that matter against Coconote.
- Free limits are published per day. The limits page gives the free plan three new pieces of content and five AI chat messages a day, and documents of up to 100 pages or 10 MB. Pro raises documents to 2,000 pages or 300 MB.
- Pro is 20 US dollars a month or 143.99 a year. Those are the prices on the US App Store listing, which also claims support for more than 40 languages. Students with a .edu address get 20 per cent off.
- ElevenLabs is named for speech-to-text. YouLearn's privacy policy lists it for transcription, with Google, Anthropic, OpenAI and xAI for the AI features and Amazon Web Services for storage.
YouLearn answers the "how much can I do for free" question that Coconote leaves open, and at 20 US dollars a month it costs about what Turbo AI does. It publishes no cap per recording either, so a two-hour lecture is still a test you run yourself.
Should you use Otter instead?
Otter is a meeting assistant with a student discount rather than a study app, and its pricing page spells out the limits Coconote leaves unwritten. What it gives back is a transcript and a summary with action items, so the flashcards and quizzes a Coconote user is used to are gone.
- Free: 300 minutes a month, 30 per conversation. Imports of audio or video files are capped at three for the life of a free account.
- Pro: 16.99 US dollars a month, 90 minutes per conversation. Billed yearly it is 8.33 a month, and a .edu address takes 20 per cent off.
- Transcription in six languages. English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese are the ones the pricing page names.
- US storage, and training on de-identified audio. Otter's privacy policy names Amazon Web Services in the United States for storage and says Otter trains its own AI on de-identified audio recordings and on transcripts.
Otter suits a student whose lectures are in English and who writes their own flashcards from a good transcript. For a lecture in any language outside the six, or for a student who wants the cards made for them, it is a step back from Coconote.
Is Notta worth it for lectures?
Only on the paid plan. Notta's free plan gives 120 minutes a month but stops each recording at three minutes, which rules out a lecture before it starts. Our Notta alternatives guide looks at it from the other side; for a Coconote user, three numbers matter.
- Pro costs 13.49 US dollars a month or 97.99 a year. Notta's plans article gives those prices, and Notta's pricing page lists five hours per recording and 1,800 minutes a month on Pro.
- 58 languages, Danish included. That count comes from Notta's help centre, which gives the full list.
- Data in Tokyo. Notta's data security article says it stores your data with Amazon Web Services in a data centre there.
Notta's five-hour cap is the longest published in this article, and its language list is long. It makes summaries, not flashcards, and its pricing page lists no quizzes. A Coconote user who switches keeps the long lectures safe and loses the study material.
Can your phone and Word do the job for free?
Coconote's own help centre points the way: when a recording fails, it suggests Apple's Voice Memos. If you already record there, and your university account includes Microsoft 365, you can get a full transcript without paying for anything new. What you will not get is notes or cards; those you make yourself.
- Voice Memos transcribes on iPhone 12 or later. Apple's guide lists English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, French, German, Japanese, Korean and Chinese. Danish is not among them.
- Word takes the file from there. Microsoft's Transcribe support page accepts .wav, .mp4, .m4a and .mp3 uploads, up to 300 minutes a month with a Microsoft 365 subscription, in Edge or Chrome.
- 82 locales, Danish included. The same page lists them, which covers languages Voice Memos does not.
- Pixel owners have Recorder. Google's Recorder help page lists 42 locales for transcribing a recording again, Danish among them, and says that step may use Google's servers.
The phone plus Word is the cheapest route out of Coconote if a transcript is enough. Word's 300 minutes a month work out to six 50-minute lectures. Anything beyond the transcript, such as a summary or a deck of cards, is your own work, which suits some students and defeats the point of Coconote for others.
Which should you choose?
Pick by what you miss, or fear losing, in Coconote. No alternative here fixes every gap at once, so decide which gap costs you most and choose for that.
- If you want Coconote's flashcards and quizzes on your phone, try Turbo AI or YouLearn; YouLearn is the one that publishes its free limits.
- If a recording that stops halfway is your worry, choose a tool with a published cap: Otter Pro at 90 minutes, Notta Pro at five hours, Notibo at two hours per recording.
- If your lectures are in English and a transcript is enough, Word's 300 uploaded minutes a month cost nothing extra if you have Microsoft 365, and Otter Pro at 16.99 US dollars a month covers you if you do not.
- If you study in Danish or another language outside Otter's six, compare Coconote's list with Notta's 58, Word's 82 locales and Notibo's 89, and test with a recording of your own lecturer.
- If your recordings should be stored in the EU, Notibo stores its files in Frankfurt, with transcription on US processors; the others here name the United States, Tokyo or no region.
Ask your lecturer before you record, and check your university's lecture recording policy. Then run one real lecture through the tool's free plan or trial before you pay for a year.
Where Notibo fits
Notibo works from the laptop rather than the phone. You record in the browser, or upload the file your phone made, and get a transcript, notes with a summary, main points and action items, and flashcards that come back on a spaced repetition schedule. PDF, PPTX and DOCX files become notes and cards too, so the slides and the recording each get their own set.
- Limits you can read first. Pro is free for 14 days with no card and gives you 240 minutes of audio. After that, the free plan is 30 minutes of audio and five documents a month. Pro is 9.99 euro a month or 88.99 euro a year, with 1,200 minutes a month.
- Two hours per recording. Long recordings are saved in smaller pieces as they run and joined afterwards; uploads can be up to 50 MB.
- 89 languages, auto-detected. The transcript comes out in the language spoken, and a lecturer who switches language mid-sentence is handled.
- Files in Frankfurt. Transcription and notes run on US processors under standard contractual clauses. The audio is deleted once the transcript and notes are saved, and Notibo does not train on your content.
Notibo records on a computer. In Chrome or Edge it can take a browser tab's sound, on Windows the whole system sound, and in Safari or Firefox the microphone only; no bot joins your calls. If you record on a laptop and want the numbers before you start, the lecture recording page shows how a class becomes notes and cards.
