Short answer first: the best lecture recording app is the one that transcribes your lectures in the language they are held in, lets one recording run for two hours, and hands you notes and flashcards instead of a wall of text. Otter.ai and Notta are meeting tools with good English transcription and no study features. Turbo AI and Coconote are built for students but do not publish their prices. Notibo covers 89 languages, two hour recordings and spaced repetition flashcards for 9.99 EUR a month. Your phone's recorder is free and gives you audio, nothing more.
Every number below was checked against the vendor's own pricing or documentation page on 8 September 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a number, the table says "not published" rather than guessing.
What should a lecture recording app do?
It should turn ninety minutes of speech into something you can revise from, in the language the lecture was given in, without splitting the file or paying for a business plan. Five things decide whether an app manages that.
Does it transcribe your language?
Transcription is the foundation. Every note, summary and flashcard is built on it, so a transcript in the wrong language or with a high error rate spoils everything after it. If your lectures are in Danish, an app that only handles English is not slightly worse, it is useless. What Danish transcription needs, and which engines handle it, is covered in AI notes in Danish.
Can one recording hold one lecture?
Most lectures run 45 to 120 minutes. Several apps cap a single recording well below that on the cheaper plans, which means stopping and restarting halfway through or paying more. Monthly minute allowances matter less than they look. 1,200 minutes is 20 hours, which covers a normal week of lectures several times over.
Does it give you notes, or only text?
A transcript is a record. Notes are what you study from. The difference is spelled out in transcription versus notes, but the short version is that a raw transcript of a lecture is around 10,000 words you will never read again. Apps that write structured notes, and then questions and flashcards from them, do the step most students skip.
What does it cost, and what is free?
Free tiers range from useful to symbolic. Some give a few hundred minutes a month with a short cap per recording, some give a handful of uploads, and some are not described anywhere on the vendor's site.
Where does the audio go?
Every app here sends audio to a speech engine, and the large engines run in the United States. The useful question is not "is my data in the EU" but "does the vendor say where files are stored and processed, and under what safeguards". Two of the vendors on this list do not answer that clearly on their sites.
How do the six options compare?
The table uses the vendor's own pages as of 8 September 2026.
| Tool | Languages | Cap per recording | Free tier | Paid plan | Notes and flashcards | Data handling |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Notibo | 89, Danish included | 2 hours on Pro, 30 min free | 30 minutes a month | 9.99 EUR a month or 99.99 EUR a year, 1,200 minutes a month | Notes, flashcards, spaced repetition | Stored in the EU, audio processed by US providers under standard contractual clauses |
| Otter.ai | 6, no Danish | 30 min free, 90 min Pro | 300 minutes a month | Pro 16.99 USD a month, or 8.33 USD a month billed yearly, 1,200 minutes | Meeting summary, no flashcards | AWS in the United States, standard contractual clauses |
| Notta | 58, Danish included | 3 min free, 5 hours Pro | 120 minutes a month | Pro 13.61 USD a month, or 97.99 USD a year, 1,800 minutes | Summary, no flashcards | Hosted on AWS, region not stated |
| Turbo AI | Not published | Not published | Notes, flashcards and quizzes, limits not published | Not published on the site | Notes, flashcards, quizzes | Processed in the United States by external AI providers |
| Coconote | 100+ | Not published | Free to start, limits not published | Unlimited Pass, price not published on the site | Notes, flashcards, quizzes | Operates in the United States, standard contractual clauses |
| Phone recorder | Audio only; Apple's built in transcription has no Danish | Storage only | Free | None | None | Stays on the phone until you back it up |
Is Otter.ai good for lectures?
Otter is a good meeting tool and a poor lecture tool. Otter's pricing page lists transcription in six languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese. Danish is not one of them, and neither is any other Nordic language.
The recording caps are the second problem. The free Basic plan gives 300 minutes a month with a 30 minute limit per conversation. Pro, at 16.99 USD a month or 8.33 USD a month billed yearly, raises that to 1,200 minutes and 90 minutes per conversation. A two hour lecture does not fit either plan without a break in the middle. The output is a transcript plus a meeting summary with action items. There are no flashcards and nothing built for revision. On data, Otter's privacy policy names Amazon Web Services in the United States as its storage provider, with transfers from the EU covered by standard contractual clauses. If you already use it and want to move, Otter.ai alternatives goes through the options.
Is Notta good for lectures?
Notta handles more languages and much longer recordings than Otter, but it is still a transcription tool rather than a study tool. Notta states that it supports up to 58 transcription languages, and Danish is one of them.
On Notta's pricing page the free plan gives 120 minutes a month but caps a single conversation at three minutes, which rules it out for lectures. Pro costs 13.61 USD a month, or 97.99 USD a year, for 1,800 minutes a month and up to five hours per recording. That is the most generous single recording limit in this comparison. What comes back is a transcript and an AI summary; there are no flashcards or quizzes. Notta's security page says all of its software is hosted on Amazon Web Services and that the company is GDPR compliant, but it does not say which region the data sits in.
What does Turbo AI offer?
Turbo AI, formerly TurboLearn, is a study app rather than a meeting tool. It records lectures, writes notes, and generates flashcards and quizzes, and its site says the free tier includes all three. That is the right feature set for a student.
What the site does not say is what anything costs. The pricing address returned a not found page when we checked, and the homepage only says you can upgrade to unlock unlimited features. Third party review sites quote prices, but they disagree with each other, so we do not repeat any of them. The site also publishes no language list and no cap per recording. The privacy policy says personal information may be stored and processed in the United States and that the product uses external AI providers, currently OpenAI, Grok, Anthropic and Modal Labs, to process content. It does not mention GDPR.
What does Coconote offer?
Coconote has the same shape. You record or upload a lecture, PDF, document or video and get notes, a transcript, flashcards, quizzes and study games back, in what the site describes as 100+ languages. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, web and Mac.
Like Turbo AI, Coconote does not publish prices on its website. The site says you can use it for free to get started and recommends an Unlimited Pass for unlimited notes, but the free limits, the price of the pass and the maximum recording length are not stated. You find them inside the app. The privacy policy says Coconote operates in the United States and transfers data there from the EEA, using standard contractual clauses where required.
Is the phone's own voice recorder enough?
It is, if all you want is a backup of the audio. It costs nothing, the only cap is your storage, and the file never leaves the phone unless you back it up.
The limits show up the moment you want text. Apple's feature availability page lists the languages the built in audio transcription in Notes supports beyond English: Cantonese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin, Portuguese and Spanish. Danish is not on the list, so a Danish lecture recorded on an iPhone stays audio. Even in a supported language you get a transcript and nothing else: no headings, no summary, no questions. Ninety minutes of audio is ninety minutes, and a file you have to play from start to finish is a file you rarely open.
Where does Notibo fit?
Notibo is the option on this list built around the whole chain: record, transcribe, notes, flashcards, spaced repetition. It transcribes 89 languages including Danish, allows a single recording of up to two hours on Pro, and turns the transcript into structured notes and flashcards that it schedules for review. The free plan covers 30 minutes a month. Pro is 9.99 EUR a month or 99.99 EUR a year with 1,200 minutes a month. Files are stored in the EU and audio is processed by US speech providers under standard contractual clauses, which is stated on the site rather than left for you to dig out. The plans are on the pricing page.
Which app should you choose?
Pick by what you will do after the lecture, not by the length of the feature list.
If you only want a backup, use the phone. It is free and there is nothing to learn.
If your lectures are in English and you already pay for Otter, it will do for lectures under 90 minutes. Longer ones need splitting.
If you need long Danish recordings transcribed and nothing more, Notta Pro's five hour cap and 58 languages make it the strongest pure transcription option here.
If you want notes and flashcards and do not mind finding the price inside the app, Turbo AI and Coconote both do the job. Both are US based and neither publishes a recording cap.
If you want the whole chain with published prices and EU storage, Notibo is the one built for it.
Whichever you choose, test it on one real lecture before you pay for a year. Record 20 minutes, read the transcript, and ask whether the notes are something you would revise from. Best AI note app for students has a checklist for that test. And ask before you press record. Most universities allow personal recordings, some lecturers do not, and the rules differ by country.