Short answer first: Granola is a strong notepad for online meetings and a partial fit for lectures. It listens to the computer's sound with no bot in the call, and its Mac and Windows apps can transcribe a conversation in the room. But its pages describe meeting rooms, not lecture halls, list no flashcards, and limit the student pack, 12 free months of Business, to students in the US, the UK and Canada. Elsewhere, Basic is free with notes visible for 30 days and Business costs 14 US dollars a user a month. The tools that turn a lecture into study material are Turbo AI, Coconote, Gemini Notebook and Notibo.
The prices, limits and language counts below were read on the vendors' own pages on 29 September 2026: Granola's pricing, student and security pages, its help centre and its blog, Otter's help centre and pricing page, Google's posts and help pages on Gemini Notebook, and the Turbo AI and Coconote sites. The language count on Granola's pricing page was read on 30 September. A vendor that publishes no number is marked "not published" rather than guessed. Prices are in US dollars, as each vendor's page printed them, except Notibo's, which are in euro.
What does a lecture need from a note app?
To the software, a meeting and a lecture look alike: people talk, and notes come out. The differences sit elsewhere. An online meeting reaches you through the laptop's speakers, several people share the talking, and the notes end in tasks. A lecture has one main voice at the front of a room, and its notes are something you revise weeks later. These questions separate the tools built for each.
Can it hear a lecturer in the room?
How well a laptop picks up a lecturer depends on its microphone and where you sit. The only distance on the pages read for this article is in Granola's own blog, which advises roughly 6 to 12 inches between the laptop and the main speaker. Granola's setup guide lists in-person meetings among the things its Mac and Windows apps transcribe, and Otter's help centre describes recording in a browser on any computer.
Does anything join the call?
For an online lecture, a bot that joins as a named participant is visible to the lecturer and to every student on the call. Granola and Notibo add nothing to the call, and Coconote's desktop app, by its own description, captures the sound on the computer. Otter's Notetaker joins as a guest participant unless you record with Otter's desktop app instead, which needs no bot.
What do you study from afterwards?
Notes help on the day; flashcards and quizzes help in the week before the exam. Granola produces enhanced notes, a chat over your meetings and, on Business, follow-up emails. Turbo AI, Coconote and Gemini Notebook add quizzes and flashcards, and Notibo adds flashcards with spaced repetition on Pro.
Where are the notes kept, and who trains on them?
Granola, Otter, Turbo AI and Coconote name the United States or a US provider in their own policies. Google names no storage location for Gemini Notebook on the pages read for this article. Notibo stores files in Frankfurt and runs transcription and notes on US processors. Granola also uses anonymised data for its own models unless you opt out.
How do Granola and the alternatives compare?
Each row says what the vendor's own pages say. Prices are the standard ones printed on 29 September 2026, before any student offer.
| Tool | Built for | Records in the room on a laptop | Joins the call as a bot | Flashcards | Languages | Free plan | Price | Data location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Granola | Meetings | Yes, in-person meetings on Mac and Windows; no lecture hall described | No | None listed | 31 on desktop, 17 on mobile; the pricing page says 32 and 10 | Notes visible for 30 days | US$14 a user a month | AWS, United States |
| Otter | Meetings | Yes, in a browser on any computer | Yes, Notetaker; the desktop app records without it | None listed | 6 | 300 minutes a month, 30 per conversation | US$16.99 a month, or US$8.33 a month billed yearly | AWS, a US-based provider |
| Turbo AI | Studying | Records lectures live; laptop not named | Not stated | Yes, with spaced repetition | Not published | Yes, limits not published | No pricing page; its blog gives US$20 a month or US$120 a year | May be stored in the United States, per its privacy policy |
| Coconote | Studying | Mac and Windows app captures lectures and the computer's sound | Not stated | Yes | 100+ | Yes, limits not published | No pricing page; gift page gives a year at US$258, on sale at US$129; US$59 a year in the sign-up flow | Operates in the United States, per its privacy policy |
| Gemini Notebook | Research on your own sources | Uploads; a recorder for the mobile app is rolling out | Not stated | Yes | 71 for audio import | Yes; limits refresh every 5 hours | Google AI Plus US$4.99 or AI Pro US$19.99 a month (US) | Not stated for personal accounts |
| Notibo | Lectures | Yes, in the browser | No | On Pro and in the trial | 89 | 14-day Pro trial, no card; then 30 minutes a month | €9.99 a month or €88.99 a year | Files in the EU (Frankfurt); US processors |
The two meeting tools, Granola and Otter, are designed around calls. The study tools all make flashcards, but Turbo AI and Coconote have no pricing page, and Google names no storage location for personal accounts. None of these pages says how well a laptop hears a lecturer from the back row, which is why the decision section ends with a test.
What is Granola built to do well?
Granola calls itself "the AI notepad for back-to-back meetings", and the product follows that line closely. You type rough notes during a call, and when it ends Granola combines them with the transcript into structured notes. From Granola's home page and its help centre:
- No bot joins the call. Granola captures the computer's audio and the microphone, and no extra attendee appears. It works with Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and other call apps.
- Your own notes steer the result. What you type is treated as the important points, and without any typing it works from the transcript alone.
- It knows your calendar. Granola syncs with your calendar, and on Business it prepares a brief before external meetings and drafts follow-up emails.
- Speaker names come from the call. On macOS and Windows, speaker tags name each person in Google Meet, Zoom and Teams; elsewhere the transcript shows "Me" and "Them".
- It keeps no audio. Granola's security page says the desktop app transcribes in real time and stores only the transcript and your notes, and it cites a SOC 2 Type 2 audit.
- The free plan has no daily limit. Basic transcribes as many meetings as you like; the catch is that only the last 30 days of notes show in the app.
For a student whose week is full of online seminars, group project calls or a part-time job with meetings, this is a polished tool, and the free plan is usable. Most of what makes it good at meetings, though, depends on a call running through the computer, and much of that has no counterpart in a lecture hall.
Can Granola take notes in a lecture hall?
Granola's student page promises to "capture every lecture", and its FAQ says Granola uses your computer's audio to transcribe lectures and meetings. Its setup guide lists in-person meetings among the things the Mac and Windows apps transcribe. The room its pages describe, though, is a meeting room:
- The desktop app hears two channels. Granola's transcription guide says it uses the system audio and the microphone. Its troubleshooting page describes the microphone side as you and anyone else in the same room.
- Its own advice is to sit close. A post on Granola's blog recommends the desktop app for conference rooms with the laptop at the table, roughly 6 to 12 inches from the main speaker for the best result.
- You start it by hand. With no calendar event, you open a New Note and transcription begins.
- It can stop by itself. The transcription guide lists 15 minutes without new audio and putting the computer to sleep among the triggers. A stopped note can be resumed later and the notes generated again.
- It cannot take a recording you already have. The same guide says Granola does not import or upload pre-recorded audio files such as MP3s.
- The phone app is the one pitched at in-person use. The security page calls Granola for Mobile built for in-person meetings. The mobile guide says the phone app records its own microphone, labels speakers as A, B and so on, and may fail on recordings of roughly 10 hours or more.
No Granola page read for this article describes a lecture hall, where the lecturer stands much further from your laptop than a colleague across a table. That does not mean it fails there; you find out by testing one lecture. Granola's help centre also leaves consent to the user, and in a lecture that means asking the lecturer before you record.
What do Granola's plans and student pack cost?
Granola's pricing page lists three plans, priced per user per month, and its billing guide explains how they are charged:
- Basic is 0 US dollars. It includes AI notes, chat and templates, but only the last 30 days of notes are visible in the app. Older notes are kept, and a CSV export returns their titles, summaries and transcripts.
- Business is 14 US dollars a user a month, billed monthly. It removes the 30-day limit and adds integrations such as Notion and Zapier, pre-meeting briefs and follow-up emails. There is no yearly price: the billing guide says annual billing is for Enterprise contracts only.
- Enterprise starts at 35 US dollars a user a month. It adds single sign-on, admin controls and model training switched off for a whole team.
- The phone apps are free. The billing guide says no paid plan is needed to take notes on iPhone, Android or Apple Watch.
The student pack has its own page. It gives 12 months of Granola Business to currently enrolled students at accredited universities in the US, the UK and Canada. You apply on that page, prove enrolment by uploading a student ID and, according to the billing guide, use your academic email. The page calls the offer a limited edition and lets you refer up to five friends at your university. It does not say what happens when the year ends. A student anywhere else starts on Basic.
Why would a student look past Granola?
Most of the reasons concern fit rather than quality.
It is organised around meetings and a calendar. Notes hang on calendar events, briefs prepare you for external meetings, and follow-ups are emails. Sign-in goes through Google, Microsoft or a company's single sign-on, according to its security FAQ. A timetable of lectures fits that model less neatly than a diary of calls.
It has no study features. Its plans list notes, chat, templates, recipes and integrations. Its pricing, student and help pages mention no flashcards, quizzes or spaced repetition, and it cannot transcribe a recording you already have.
Its data sits in the United States. The security FAQ says all data is stored on AWS in the US and that no EU, UK or other regional storage is offered. By default anonymised data may be used for Granola's own models; you can switch that off under Settings, Preferences, and third parties such as OpenAI and Anthropic are not allowed to train on it.
The material is English-first. The language guide lists 31 languages on desktop and 17 on mobile, and a tooltip on the pricing page says 32 and 10. The menus and settings are in English only, and the English setting is the one it recommends when most meetings are in English. Danish, for one, is on the desktop list and missing from mobile.
The free year covers three countries. Outside the US, the UK and Canada the student pack does not apply, and Basic hides everything older than 30 days.
Are Otter or Gemini Notebook a better fit for lectures?
Two well-known names sit on either side of Granola. Otter is another meeting tool with a student discount; Gemini Notebook is a research tool from Google that has started adding study features.
Otter can join the call as a participant. Otter's help centre says its Notetaker joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams as a visible guest participant and cannot join anonymously; its desktop app records without a bot. For a lecture in the room, Otter's guide to in-person recordings says you can record in a browser on any computer, through its built-in microphone. Its language page lists six languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Simplified Chinese.
On Otter's pricing page, Basic is free with 300 minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation, and Pro is 16.99 US dollars a month, or 8.33 a month billed yearly, with 90 minutes per meeting. Students with a .edu address get 20 per cent off. The details are in Otter alternatives.
Gemini Notebook is NotebookLM under a new name. Google renamed it on 16 July 2026, according to its announcement. It answers questions from the sources you add. Google's help page says an uploaded audio file can be up to 200 MB and is transcribed on import in 71 listed languages. A post of 15 September 2026 announced an audio recorder in the mobile app for lectures, to start the week after, alongside quizzes and flashcards. Google's Workspace Updates post of 18 September says users can now use the recorder, in a rollout that may take more than 15 days to reach an account. Neither post mentions a recorder on a laptop.
Google offers eligible college students a free year: Google AI Pro in the US, 19.99 US dollars a month afterwards, and Google AI Plus in more than 140 other markets, 4.99 US dollars a month or the local equivalent. Both ask for a payment method and renew unless cancelled.
Do Turbo AI or Coconote suit a student better?
Both are aimed at students, and both make study material rather than meeting notes.
Turbo AI turns lectures into flashcards and quizzes. Turbo AI (turbo.ai, formerly TurboLearn) says on its student page that you can drop in PDFs, paste YouTube links or record lectures live, and that it makes flashcards with spaced repetition, quizzes and audio summaries it calls podcasts. It runs on the web, phones and tablets and has a free tier. It has no pricing page; a post on its own blog, dated 9 July 2026, gives 20 US dollars a month, or 120 a year.
Its privacy policy names OpenAI, Grok, Anthropic and Modal Labs as AI providers, says data may be stored in the United States, and lists training AI tools among its uses of personal information. The full comparison is in Turbo AI alternatives.
Coconote records on phones and now on computers. Coconote's site lists notes, transcripts, quizzes, flashcards and podcasts from recordings, documents and links, in 100+ languages, on iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Mac and the web. Its desktop page offers a Mac and Windows app that captures lectures and every sound on the computer. It is free to start and has no pricing page; its gift page prices a year of Coconote Pass at 258 US dollars, shown at 50 per cent off as 129, and a page in its sign-up flow showed 59 US dollars a year after three free days. Its privacy policy says Coconote operates in the United States and may transfer personal information there. More in Coconote alternatives.
Which should you choose?
The deciding question is how your week splits between lectures and meetings.
If your week is mostly meetings, Granola is built for exactly that. For the rest of that field, from Otter and Fathom to the notes built into Teams, Meet and Zoom, see the best meeting notes apps.
If you study in the US, the UK or Canada and most of your classes are online, apply for Granola's student pack and try it through a term of online seminars; the year of Business costs nothing.
If your lectures are in a room and you revise with flashcards, choose among the study tools: Turbo AI and Coconote, which run on phones and the web, or Notibo in the browser on a computer. Neither Turbo AI nor Coconote has a pricing page, so check the price inside the app before you subscribe.
If you already have recordings and want to ask questions of them, Gemini Notebook takes the file as a source and answers from it, with quizzes and flashcards on top.
If your online lectures run on Zoom or Teams and you only want a transcript, Otter's desktop app records without a bot, while its Notetaker shows up by name in the participant list.
Before paying for a year of anything, record one real lecture from your usual seat, read what comes back, and decide from that.
Where Notibo fits
Notibo is built for the lecture case in this article. It runs in the browser on a computer, with nothing to install, and records from the microphone, so it can record a lecture from a laptop in the hall. For an online lecture, Chrome or Edge can take the sound of a browser tab, and Windows the whole system sound; Safari and Firefox give the microphone only. No bot joins the call, and there is no meeting link to paste.
What comes back is a transcript with a summary, main points and action items, in the language spoken. Notibo transcribes 89 languages and detects them automatically, even when the lecturer switches language mid-sentence. On Pro, and during the trial, it also makes flashcards from the recording with spaced repetition, using the SM-2 algorithm, and it turns PDF, PPTX and DOCX files into notes and flashcards.
What it leaves out matters as much. There is no calendar connection and no bot, and one recording runs up to two hours. The transcript is split by speaker only where Notibo can tell the voices apart, which a lecture with one voice rarely needs. The audio is deleted as soon as the transcript and notes are saved, so nobody can listen to the lecture again in Notibo. Files are stored in the EU, on Supabase in Frankfurt; transcription and the AI notes run on US processors under standard contractual clauses, and Notibo trains nothing on user content.
Pro is free for 14 days with no card, and after that the account keeps 30 minutes a month for free. The trial starts with your first recording and includes 240 minutes of audio. Pro costs 9.99 euro a month or 88.99 euro a year, with 1,200 minutes of audio a month; the pricing page sets the plans side by side. Ask the lecturer before you record.
