Skip to content

What Canadian medical schools want, and how to study for it

By · Notibo

Published · 13 min read · updated

What Canadian medical schools want, and how to study for it

Key takeaways

  • There is no national rule. UBC asks for 90 graded credits and a 70 per cent overall average, Calgary sets 3.20 for Albertans and 3.80 for everyone else, and Dalhousie counts your 60 most recent credit hours.
  • Province of residence changes the bar. UBC gives preference to British Columbia residents and caps out-of-province seats at 10 per cent of the total, and Calgary's non-Alberta applicants also need a CARS score of 128.
  • The MCAT is four sections, 230 questions and 6 hours 15 minutes of content time, about 7 hours 30 minutes in the seat. Each section scores 118 to 132, so the total runs 472 to 528 with 500 as the midpoint.
  • Casper is a situational judgement test, not a knowledge test: 11 scenarios in two sections, four answered by video and seven typed, in roughly 65 to 85 minutes. Dalhousie requires it and uses it for interview selection.
  • Question volume is the habit that shows up in the data. In one study of 72 preclinical students, each extra 445 practice questions was associated with one more point on a licensing exam.
  • Your GPA is the part you cannot resit. Any MCAT plan that takes a term of attention away from the courses being counted is trading a fixed asset for a repeatable one.

Short answer first: there is no national standard. UBC asks for at least 90 graded credits and a 70 per cent overall average, the University of Calgary sets an admissions GPA of 3.20 for Albertans and 3.80 for everyone else plus a CARS score of 128 for non-Albertans, and Dalhousie counts only your 60 most recent credit hours and wants 3.3 from Maritime residents. Everyone writes the MCAT: four sections, 230 questions, 6 hours 15 minutes of content time. Some schools add Casper, a situational judgement test of 11 scenarios. Where you live changes the bar as much as what you score.

Every number below is from a named school's own admissions page or from the body that runs the test. Three schools are not the country, and the rules move year to year, so treat this as a map of how the pieces fit and read the pages for the schools you will actually apply to.

What do Canadian medical schools actually weigh?

Four things, in different proportions at every school: your grades, your MCAT, some measure of who you are outside a lecture hall, and where you live. The last one surprises people who have only read American advice. UBC's calendar states plainly that preference is given to residents of British Columbia and that a maximum of 10 per cent of the total seats may be made available to out-of-province applicants. Calgary's split runs through the GPA itself.

The wider system your grades come from, and why a GPA does not travel between Canadian universities, is set out in how Canadian university exams actually work.

  • Grades are the fixed asset. They accumulate over three or four years and you cannot rewrite them in a summer. Everything else on this page can be attempted again.
  • The MCAT is a threshold at some schools and a score at others. UBC's calendar says minimum component scores are determined annually by the admissions committees. Calgary sets no minimum for Albertans but requires 128 on one section from everyone else.
  • Non-academic assessment is structured, not a vibe. UBC lists extracurricular lists, non-academic experiences, references and interviews run on the Multiple Mini Interview model. Dalhousie uses Casper before it interviews anyone.
  • Residency is a category, not a tiebreak. Read each school's definition of a resident of its province before you assume which pool you are in.
School Province Minimum GPA to apply MCAT rule Situational judgement test
UBC British Columbia 70 per cent overall average on 90+ graded credits Required, component minimums set annually Not stated in the calendar
Cumming, University of Calgary Alberta 3.20 Albertan, 3.80 non-Albertan CARS 128 for non-Albertans, none for Albertans Not stated on the eligibility page
Dalhousie Nova Scotia 3.3 on 4.0 for Maritime residents Required Casper, mandatory

How is your GPA calculated, and by whom?

By each school, its own way, from the same transcript. This is the single most misunderstood part of applying in Canada, and it changes what you should do in second year.

Dalhousie uses the 60 most recent credit hours of graded courses from a completed or in-progress 90 to 120 credit baccalaureate degree, excludes pass/fail and credit/no credit courses, and rounds the overall GPA to the nearest tenth. Summer credits that are not part of the 120-credit degree requirement do not count. A rough first year is therefore survivable if you keep taking full loads afterwards, because the window slides forward.

Calgary computes the average of all full-time undergraduate years, where a full-time year is 24 units of which at least 18 carry a numerical or letter grade. Its calendar adds three rules: applicants who have finished their undergraduate degree before they would start the MD program have their lowest GPA year removed, provided that year holds at least 18 graded units; a completed graduate degree is included as the equivalent of a single full-time undergraduate year; and applicants with both remote and recent studies may exclude work completed more than 10 years earlier. The eligibility page requires at least two full-time years of post-secondary education before you apply.

UBC works from all university-level courses attempted, wants a minimum of 90 graded credits completed by 30 April of the application year, and a minimum overall academic average of 70 per cent.

The hour with the admissions pages

Do this in second year, not in fourth.

  1. List the schools you are realistically applying to, and their province.
  2. For each, write down exactly which courses count: all years, the most recent 60 hours, or something else.
  3. Write down whether pass/fail, credit/no credit, and summer courses are included.
  4. Work out your own average under each rule, separately. They will not agree.
  5. Note the course-load condition attached to each rule, because dropping to three courses can quietly disqualify a year.

That single page tells you whether a light term costs you nothing or costs you a whole year of GPA. It is also the argument against taking a course credit/no credit for an easy ride: at Dalhousie it is simply removed from the calculation, which can pull a weak term into the window that gets counted.

What is the MCAT, and how long is it?

One exam, four sections, and a day that is longer than most people plan for. The AAMC's own outline gives the structure and timing:

Section Questions Time
Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems 59 95 minutes
Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills 53 90 minutes
Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems 59 95 minutes
Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior 59 95 minutes

Total content time is 6 hours and 15 minutes, and total seated time is about 7 hours and 30 minutes. Scoring is separate from that: each section is converted to a scaled score from 118 to 132, and the AAMC's score scale page gives the section midpoint as 125 and the total as 472 to 528 with a midpoint of 500. The AAMC states there is no curve, and that the exam is scaled and equated so scores mean the same thing whenever you test.

Two implications for how you study. First, three of the four sections are content plus reasoning, and one, Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills, contains no science content at all: it is comprehension and analysis of passages from the social sciences and humanities. You cannot memorize your way into it, which is why Calgary can use it as the single section threshold for non-Alberta applicants. Second, the endurance is part of the test. A person who has never worked for six hours straight will lose marks in the last section for reasons that have nothing to do with biochemistry.

What is Casper, and who asks for it?

Casper is a situational judgement test, which means it puts you in a scenario and asks what you would do and why. The vendor describes it as an open-response situational judgement test of 2 sections and 11 scenarios: 4 scenarios answered by video with two open-ended questions each and one minute per response, and 7 answered by typing with 3.5 minutes to answer two questions on one page. It takes roughly 65 to 85 minutes including two optional breaks.

Not every Canadian school uses it, so do not assume. Dalhousie does, calls it a mandatory 90-minute computer-based test that assesses non-cognitive skills and interpersonal characteristics, and says applicants who do not complete it will not be considered. The scores are used for interview selection and are valid for one application cycle only, so a score from last year is worth nothing this year.

Preparing for it is not the same as preparing for the MCAT. There is no syllabus. What helps is having actually thought about the ordinary conflicts of a clinical or academic setting before you meet one under a clock: a colleague who is not pulling their weight, a patient who refuses a treatment, a friend who asks you to bend a rule. Write out three or four of those, in full, with your reasoning, and time yourself. Typing speed is a real constraint at 3.5 minutes for two answers.

How do you build a term that does not wreck your GPA?

Start from the thing that cannot be redone. The MCAT can be rewritten. Casper can be taken again next cycle. A 68 in organic chemistry sits in your average until it either falls out of Dalhousie's 60-hour window or is dropped as Calgary's lowest year, and neither of those is under your control this week.

So the order is: courses first, MCAT second, everything else in the gaps. In practice that means MCAT content review lives in short daily blocks rather than in weekends stolen from coursework, and full-length practice exams live in reading week, in the December gap and in the summer. The two-term Canadian year with its December and April exam periods is mapped in planning your study around the Canadian academic year, and those exam periods are exactly where MCAT study has to stop.

A week that holds

  • Six blocks of coursework a week per course, two of them retrieval rather than reading.
  • Five blocks of 45 minutes for MCAT content, one per weekday, on whichever section is weakest.
  • One question-bank session of 60 minutes, reviewed properly, which takes longer than doing it.
  • One full-length practice exam a fortnight, and none at all in the two weeks before a midterm block.
  • Nothing on the day after an exam. The recovery is part of the plan, not a failure of it.

If a practice test and a midterm collide, the midterm wins. Every time.

What do question banks and flashcards actually do?

They force retrieval, which is the part of studying that builds durable memory, and they give you a count you can hold yourself to. There is evidence behind the habit. A 2015 study in Perspectives on Medical Education surveyed 72 preclinical students about their self-directed study and their licensing exam results. Every student used practice questions, averaging 3,870 of them. In the multivariable analysis, the number of questions completed and the number of unique Anki flashcards seen each predicted exam performance independently of second-year honours grades and MCAT score, and the authors put the size of it at roughly one extra point per 445 additional practice questions or 1,700 additional unique flashcards. Test anxiety predicted in the other direction.

Two cautions. Students chose their own methods, so heavier users may differ from lighter users in ways the study cannot remove, and the outcome was a medical licensing exam rather than the MCAT. What the result supports is the habit of frequent retrieval at volume, not any particular app or a nightly card quota.

The mechanics that make it work are the ordinary ones: active recall rather than rereading, and spaced repetition so that the item comes back just before you would have lost it. For the MCAT specifically, keep two decks apart. One holds facts you must simply know, amino acids, hormones, equations. The other holds errors: every question you got wrong, rewritten as a question about the reason you got it wrong. The second deck is the one that moves a score.

What should you do in a gap year?

A gap year is normal in Canada and it is not read as a failure, but it is read. The useful question is which of the three fixed things it improves.

  • Graded coursework. If your early years were weak, more graded credits change what Dalhousie's most recent 60 hours contains and can satisfy UBC's 90-credit floor without a rushed final term. Calgary treats a completed graduate degree as one equivalent full-time year and lets applicants with both remote and recent studies exclude work more than ten years old.
  • The MCAT. A year without a full course load is the only time most applicants can give the exam the eight to ten weeks of concentrated work it wants, and then sit it early enough to rewrite if needed.
  • Work and care experience. Paid employment in a care setting gives you the material that Casper and the Multiple Mini Interview are asking about. Volunteering counts too, but a year of being paid to do something difficult reads differently than a list.

What a gap year does not fix is a plan built on assumptions. Before it starts, read the current admissions pages of every school on your list, note the deadlines, and write down which requirement each part of the year is meant to satisfy.

Where Notibo fits

Most of the above rests on knowing what was actually said in your science courses, which is where undergraduate premed study quietly falls apart: the notes from a 9 a.m. biochemistry lecture in October are the raw material for both the course grade and the MCAT the following summer. Notibo records a lecture, or takes an audio file you upload, and returns a transcript, structured notes and flashcards with spaced repetition, so the review in April draws on the lecture from week three rather than on a slide deck you cannot decode. It also turns PDF, PPTX and DOCX files into notes and flashcards, which covers the readings and the lab manual.

Pro is free to try for 14 days with no card, and the trial includes 240 minutes of recording. Afterwards the free plan is 30 minutes of recording a month, which is less than one lecture. Pro is 9.99 euro a month or 88.99 euro a year; the prices are in euro and the local amount appears at checkout. Uploads are capped at 50 MB, and long recordings are saved in smaller parts as they run and joined back into one transcript. Files are stored in the EU, on Supabase in Frankfurt, while transcription and the AI notes run on US processors under standard contractual clauses. It will not write your Casper answers and it is not a question bank. See what the flashcards do, and ask your instructor before you record a lecture.

Frequently asked questions

What GPA do you need for medical school in Canada?
It depends on the school and on where you live, and the schools publish different numbers because they calculate different things. The University of Calgary requires an admissions GPA of 3.20 or greater from Alberta applicants and 3.80 or greater from non-Albertans. Dalhousie sets a minimum of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale for residents of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. UBC's calendar asks for a minimum overall academic average of 70 per cent across all university-level courses attempted, on at least 90 graded credits. Those numbers are floors for applying, not the averages of the people who get in.
How do Canadian medical schools calculate your GPA?
Differently, which is why one number does not travel. Dalhousie uses the 60 most recent credit hours of graded courses from a 90 to 120 credit baccalaureate degree, excludes pass/fail and credit/no credit courses, and rounds to the nearest tenth. Calgary averages all full-time undergraduate years, where a full-time year means 24 units with at least 18 of them graded, and drops the lowest year if you finish the degree before you start medical school. UBC works from all university-transferable courses attempted. Read the calculation on the page of each school you plan to apply to, and do the arithmetic yourself.
How long is the MCAT and what is on it?
Four multiple-choice sections. Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems is 59 questions in 95 minutes, Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills is 53 questions in 90 minutes, Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems is 59 questions in 95 minutes, and Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior is 59 questions in 95 minutes. The AAMC gives total content time as 6 hours and 15 minutes and total seated time as about 7 hours and 30 minutes. Each section is scored from 118 to 132, so the total runs from 472 to 528 and the midpoint is 500.
What is Casper, and do all Canadian medical schools require it?
Casper is an open-response situational judgement test. The vendor, Acuity Insights, describes 2 sections and 11 scenarios: 4 scenarios answered by video with 1 minute per response, and 7 answered by typing with 3.5 minutes for two questions, taking roughly 65 to 85 minutes including two optional breaks. It is not required everywhere. Dalhousie requires it, calls it a mandatory 90-minute computer-based test, and says applicants who do not complete it will not be considered. Check each school's own admissions page, and check the deadline, because a Casper score is valid for one application cycle only.
Can you study for the MCAT during a normal term?
You can study, but not sit it in the middle of a heavy term without a cost. The grades being counted are the ones you are earning right now, and unlike the MCAT they cannot be rewritten. A workable pattern is content review in small daily blocks during the term, a full-length practice exam every second or third weekend, and the sitting itself in a summer or a gap year. If a practice test and a midterm fall in the same week, the midterm wins.
Do question banks and flashcards actually work?
The habit they enforce does. A 2015 study in Perspectives on Medical Education surveyed 72 preclinical students on their self-directed study and found that the number of practice multiple-choice questions completed and the number of unique Anki flashcards seen each independently predicted licensing exam performance, alongside second-year honours grades and MCAT score. The authors estimate each additional 445 practice questions or 1,700 unique flashcards was worth about one point. Read it carefully: students chose their own methods, so this is an association, and it is about a licensing exam rather than the MCAT.
Is a gap year a problem for Canadian medical school applications?
No, and for some applicants it helps. Because Dalhousie counts your 60 most recent credit hours, a year of further graded coursework moves the window it looks at. Calgary counts a completed graduate degree as the equivalent of a single full-time undergraduate year, and lets applicants with both remote and recent studies exclude academic work completed more than ten years before they apply. UBC requires 90 graded credits completed by 30 April of the application year, which a gap year gives you time to finish properly rather than in a panic. Use the year for graded work, the MCAT, or paid employment in care, and check each school's rules before you plan around them.
What do Canadian medical schools actually weigh?
Four things, in different proportions at every school: your grades, your MCAT, some measure of who you are outside a lecture hall, and where you live. The last one surprises people who have only read American advice. UBC's calendar states plainly that preference is given to residents of British Columbia and that a maximum of 10 per cent of the total seats may be made available to out-of-province applicants. Calgary's split runs through the GPA itself. The wider system your grades come from, and why a GPA does not travel between Canadian universities, is set out in how Canadian university exams actually work. Grades are the fixed asset.

Sources

  1. Doctor of Medicine, Admission (UBC Vancouver Academic Calendar) (minimum 90 graded credits by 30 April, minimum overall academic average of 70 per cent, MCAT required with component minimums set annually, preference to BC residents, maximum 10 per cent of seats to out-of-province applicants, Multiple Mini Interview)
  2. GPA Requirement (Dalhousie University, Medical School Admissions) (60 most recent credit hours of graded courses from a 90 to 120 credit degree, pass/fail and credit/no credit excluded, rounded to the nearest tenth, minimum 3.3 on a 4.0 scale for Maritime residents)
  3. CASPer Requirement (Dalhousie University, Medical School Admissions) (mandatory 90-minute computer-based test, assesses non-cognitive skills, valid for one application cycle only, used for interview selection, applicants who do not complete it are not considered)
  4. Am I Eligible? (Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary) (minimum GPA 3.20 for Alberta residents and 3.80 for non-Albertans, all full-time years used to calculate GPA, CARS cut-off of at least 128 for non-Albertans, at least two full-time years of post-secondary education)
  5. What's on the MCAT Exam? (Association of American Medical Colleges) (four sections, 59, 53, 59 and 59 questions, 95, 90, 95 and 95 minutes, total content time 6 hours 15 minutes, total seated time about 7 hours 30 minutes)
  6. How the MCAT Exam is Scored (Association of American Medical Colleges) (each section converted to a scaled score from 118 to 132, not graded on a curve, scaled and equated so scores mean the same whenever you test)
  7. About Casper (Acuity Insights) (open-response situational judgement test, 2 sections and 11 scenarios, 4 video scenarios at 1 minute per response and 7 typed scenarios at 3.5 minutes for two questions, roughly 65 to 85 minutes including two optional breaks)
  8. Student-directed retrieval practice is a predictor of medical licensing examination performance (Perspectives on Medical Education, 2015) (72 preclinical students, mean 3,870 practice questions, questions completed and unique flashcards seen independently predicted Step 1 score, each 445 questions or 1,700 flashcards worth about one point)

About the author

Farhad Ba-Ali

Farhad Ba-Ali builds Notibo in Odense, Denmark. He writes about study methods, memory and note-taking from the questions students send in, and from what the product's own data shows.

October's biochemistry lecture, needed again in April?

Record it with your instructor's permission and keep a transcript and notes, not just a slide deck you cannot decode. The deck itself turns into flashcards. Pro is free for 14 days, no card.

Create free account

Back to the blog