Short answer first: five courses a term is the standard full load at most Canadian universities, and it is not the minimum. UBC counts you as full time at 9 credits in a Winter Session term against a standard 30 credit year. Waterloo calls 5 courses a full load and 3 courses the floor. McGill's line is 12 credits a term, Toronto's Faculty of Arts and Science 3.0 credits across Fall and Winter, Guelph 1.50 credits a semester. Federal student aid draws its own line at 60 percent of a full course load. Those numbers do not move together, and the gap is where students get caught.
What follows is the arithmetic behind that: what each university calls a full load, who else gets to define full time, what five courses cost in hours, and what it actually costs you to drop to four. Every rule is quoted from a named university or from canada.ca. Yours will differ, and the details live in your faculty calendar.
What counts as a full course load at your university?
There is no national number. Each university counts in its own units, and the same five courses can be 2.5 units, 2.50 credits, 15 credits or 3.0 credits depending on where you are sitting. If you have just arrived from Grade 12 or CEGEP, the shift in how the working week is built is in from high school to first year in Canada.
- Waterloo counts courses. Waterloo's guidance for incoming students says most of its courses are assessed as a unit of 0.5 and are approximately 39 teaching hours per term, that a full-time course load is 5 courses per term, equivalent to 2.5 units, and that the minimum is 3 courses, equivalent to 1.5 units.
- Guelph counts credits per semester. The Guelph undergraduate calendar states that the normal semester load for academic programs is 2.50 credits unless the schedule of studies prescribes otherwise, and warns that going above the normal load "can place the student at academic risk and should be carefully considered in consultation with the Program Counsellor".
- McGill counts credits per term. McGill's Arts advising office puts the normal load at 4 to 5 courses, 12 to 15 credits, per term of study in the Fall and Winter, with 17 credits the maximum for a student in Satisfactory Standing. The Science office adds that a full year is normally 30 credits, and that a student with a CGPA of 3.5 or higher can ask for up to 19.
- UBC counts the session. UBC's calendar defines a standard program of study as 30 credits in a Winter Session, split across Term 1 and Term 2.
- Toronto counts the session too, and caps the term. The Faculty of Arts and Science calendar says a student enrolled in 3.0 credits or more in the Fall/Winter Session is full time and one enrolled in 2.5 credits or fewer is part time, with a maximum of 3.0 credits in any one term. Note that the floor is measured across the whole session and the ceiling per term, so the same 3.0 figure means two different things on the same page.
Here are the thresholds side by side. The left column is what the university calls normal. The middle column is the number your registration has to clear to be called full time by the university itself, which is usually much lower than the left column.
| University | Standard or normal load | Full time starts at | Ceiling |
|---|---|---|---|
| UBC Vancouver | 30 credits in a Winter Session | 9 credits in a Winter Session term | not set in this policy |
| McGill | 12 to 15 credits a term, 30 a year | 12 credits a term | 17 credits a term in Satisfactory Standing |
| Toronto, Arts and Science | not stated in this section | 3.0 credits across Fall and Winter | 3.0 credits a term |
| Waterloo | 5 courses, 2.5 units a term | 3 courses, 1.5 units a term | not stated in this section |
| Guelph | 2.50 credits a semester | 1.50 credits a semester | above 2.50 needs a counsellor |
Read your own row before you read anyone's advice. A student at Guelph carrying 2.00 credits and a student at McGill carrying 12 credits are both full time and both carrying four courses, and neither of them is carrying the normal load.
Who else gets to define full time?
This is the part that catches people. UBC's policy on full-time status says plainly that it does not apply to government student loans programs, university-based financial need programs or student awards. Those bodies each keep their own definition. So "I am full time" can be true for your registration and false for your loan in the same term.
- Student aid. The federal threshold is 60 percent of a full course load, and it is set out below.
- Scholarships. McGill's Science office warns that a student taking fewer than 27 graded credits in an academic year will not be considered for renewal of entrance scholarships or for in-course McGill scholarships or awards, including Dean's Honour List. Queen's puts its renewable awards at a minimum of 80 percent of the full course load required for the faculty you are registered in, with one exception: a final-year student who does not need 4.0 credits to finish the degree may drop to 3.0 credits and keep the scholarship.
- Residence. Carleton's advising office notes that students must be enrolled in at least 1.50 credits per term to live on campus.
- Immigration. The conditions on a study permit say you must be enrolled at a designated learning institution and show you are actively pursuing your studies by being enrolled full-time or part-time during each academic semester, excluding scheduled breaks, and making progress towards completing the program. McGill states the same thing from the other side: 12 credits a term is the eligibility requirement "for student visas, most loans and bursaries". Working on or off campus and qualifying later for a post-graduation work permit are separate questions with their own conditions, and they are covered in studying in Canada as an international student.
So before you drop a course, write down which of those five bodies has a claim on you. Most students have at least two.
The hour with your faculty calendar
Do this in week one, not in week ten.
- Find the full-time definition in your own faculty calendar and write down the number.
- Find the maximum load and the standing required to exceed it.
- Write down the course load your award renewal requires, from the award's own terms.
- If you have student aid, write down 60 percent of your faculty's full load in courses.
- If you hold a study permit, put your international student advisor's contact in the same note.
- Put the drop deadline for the term in your calendar with a reminder a week earlier.
What does student aid count as a full course load?
The federal definition is one sentence and it is worth learning. The Canada Student Financial Assistance Program's annual report defines a full-time student as one enrolled in at least 60 percent of a full course load, or at least 40 percent for students with disabilities, in a program of study of at least 12 weeks within a period of 15 consecutive weeks at a designated post-secondary institution.
Two things follow from it. First, on a five-course standard load, 60 percent is three courses. A four-course term is comfortably above the federal line even though it is below the normal load, which is why students are often surprised that dropping one course does not cost them their loan. Second, the reduced threshold for students with a disability is not automatic and it is not a downgrade. The same report notes that a student with a disability enrolled in 40 to 59 percent of a full course load can elect to be considered either full time or part time, which means a three-course or even two-course term can still be funded and assessed as a full-time term.
That election is worth raising with your accessibility advisor rather than working out alone, because a reduced load is also one of the accommodations a university can approve. The registration side of that is in academic accommodations at Canadian universities.
Provincial aid sits on top of the federal rules and can add its own conditions. Carleton's page is blunt about it: government loan eligibility comes with conditions, and one of those conditions has to do with course load. Read your province's own wording before you assume the federal number covers you.
What does a five-course term actually cost in hours?
Guelph publishes the figure most universities leave implicit. Its calendar states that 10 to 12 hours of academic time and effort per week, including classes, are expected for a 0.50 credit course. The normal semester load at Guelph is 2.50 credits, which is five of those courses. Multiply it out and the normal load is a 50 to 60 hour working week.
Waterloo's number points the same way from a different angle: about 39 teaching hours per term for each 0.5 unit course. Five of them is roughly 195 hours in the room across a twelve or thirteen week term, and the room is the smaller half of the job.
Those are design figures, not observations. Nobody writes them on a timetable. Your timetable shows the 15 to 20 hours of class and leaves the other 30 to 40 blank, and blank hours are the ones that quietly do not happen. The fix is to schedule the independent hours in writing the way school used to schedule them for you, which is the whole point of a study schedule that holds.
Why is the fifth course the one that breaks?
Because it is not one fifth of the load. It is the last 10 to 12 hours added to a week that is already 40 to 48 hours long, and those hours have to come out of sleep, travel, paid work or the other four courses. There is no slack left to take them from.
The pattern is recognizable. Four courses run fine until the fifth course's midterm lands in the same week as two assignments, and the hours get taken from the courses with the most distant deadlines. Those are usually the ones with the heaviest final exam weighting. So the fifth course does not fail on its own; it lowers the grade in the other four.
Carleton lists the students who most often carry a reduced load and it is not a list of people in trouble: students adjusting from high school, students working part-time, varsity athletes, students heavily involved on campus, and students with health concerns. Anyone with 15 or more hours a week committed elsewhere is doing a six-course term whether the sixth one has a course code or not.
The week the fifth course eats
Take your real week and subtract before you register. Fixed sleep, travel, paid work, placement hours, caring responsibilities, training. Whatever is left is your academic budget. If the remainder is under 50 hours and your faculty expects 10 to 12 per course, you are choosing which courses to short-change, not whether to.
When is a four-course term the right call?
When the term already contains something that behaves like a course. A clinical placement, a co-op job search, a repeat of a course you failed, a term with a major health issue, or a first term after arriving in a new country. In those cases four courses is the load that gets five good grades over two terms instead of five poor ones over one.
The costs are specific and you should price them before you decide.
- Time to degree. Carleton's advising page says it plainly: taking fewer credits means it may take more time to graduate. Four courses a term instead of five over four years is four courses short of a twenty-course degree, which is most of an extra term.
- Awards. If your award follows the Queen's pattern, 80 percent of a full load is the renewal condition and a four-course term on a five-course load is exactly 80 percent. A three-course term is not.
- Aid. Four out of five is 80 percent, comfortably over the federal 60 percent line. Three out of five is exactly 60 percent, which is the edge, and any further drop takes you under.
- Summer. A course taken in the summer can put the degree back on its original date, but it costs a summer's earnings, and the university may charge separately for it.
The order matters. Decide the load first, then check which of the four costs above actually binds for you, then talk to your faculty advisor. Guessing at any of those four in week eleven is how a reduced load turns into a lost scholarship.
What happens to your transcript when you drop a course?
One date decides whether the course ever existed. At U of T Scarborough, a course dropped by the deadline is removed from your transcript, with a refund following the Student Accounts schedule. Miss the deadline and it becomes a late withdrawal: the course stays on the transcript, "LWD" appears in place of a grade, there is no impact on your GPA, and there is no refund.
UBC writes the same structure in teaching weeks. Its calendar says a one-term Winter Session course may be added only within the first ten teaching days of the term, and that if a course is dropped during those periods no record of the registration in the course will appear on the student's academic record. After that, students may withdraw up to the end of the eighth teaching week for a single-term course and the twelfth teaching week for a two-term course, and the withdrawal is "noted on the academic record by a standing of W". UBC adds two things worth knowing: W standings "will not be included in computing averages", and faculties may limit how many W standings a student may have, with any withdrawals beyond that limit producing an F instead.
Before you click drop
Check four things in this order. Whether the date puts you before or after the transcript line. Whether the drop takes you under your faculty's full-time threshold. Whether it takes you under your aid or award threshold. Whether your faculty caps W standings. Then drop.
How do co-op and work terms change the count?
A work term is not a gap in your registration, and your university will say so in writing. Waterloo counts a student as full time with at least 1.5 academic units in a term or when enrolled in a co-operative work term with a co-op approved work placement. That matters for a study permit, for loan interest, and for anything else that keys off full-time status.
Waterloo's description of the structure is the clearest published version of how co-op reshapes a degree. Students alternate four-month school terms and four-month co-op work terms, many have their first work term halfway through second year, and the page states that co-op students "take the same number of courses as students not in co-op" and "pay tuition only when you're in school".
Read that last sentence carefully, because it is the trap in the plan. Co-op does not reduce your course load, it removes your summers. A co-op student's study terms are the same five-course terms as everyone else's, run back to back through what would have been a rest period. If you are in co-op and thinking about a reduced load, the term to reduce is a study term that sits between two work terms, and the conversation to have is with your co-op advisor, because the sequence itself is part of your program requirements.
Where Notibo fits
None of this is a software problem. The number of courses you can carry is decided by hours, and no tool adds hours to a week. What a tool can do is cut the time between a lecture and usable revision material, which is the part of the 10 to 12 hours per course that is easiest to waste.
Notibo records a lecture, or takes an audio file you upload, and returns a transcript, structured notes and flashcards with spaced repetition. It does the same for a PDF, PPTX or DOCX file. It transcribes 89 languages, and the transcript comes back in the language spoken. Pro is free to try for 14 days with no card, and the trial includes 240 minutes of recording. Afterwards the free plan gives you 30 minutes of recording a month, which is most of one lecture. Pro is 9.99 euro a month or 88.99 euro a year, and the local amount is shown at checkout. Uploads are capped at 50 MB, and long recordings are saved in smaller parts as they run and joined back into one transcript. There is more on how the recording side works in lecture recording.
On data: files are stored in the EU, on Supabase in Frankfurt, and transcription and the AI notes run on US processors under standard contractual clauses. Recording a class needs the instructor's permission first. If your answer to a heavy term is to record more of it, get that permission before you buy anything.
